Thursday, January 13, 2011

ALA Youth Media Award Winners for 2011

The Newberry and Printz Award winners were announced this week while we were out for the snow. Here they are:
Newberry Award (for outstanding contributions to children's literature)
Moon Over Manifest by Clare Vanderpool

Newberry Honor Books
Turtle in Paradise by Jennifer L. Holm
Heart of a Samurai by Margi Preus
Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night by Joyce Sidman
One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

Printz Award (for excellence in literature written for young adults)
Ship Breaker by Paolo Bacigalupi

Printz Honor Books
Stolen by Lucy Christopher
Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
Revolver by Marcus Sedgwick
Nothing by Janne Teller

Stonewall Children's and Young Adult Literature Award (for books of merit relating to the gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgendered experience)
Almost Perfect by Brian Katcher

Stonewall Honor Books
will grayson, will grayson by John Green and David Levithan and
Love Drugged by James Klise
Freaks and Revelations by Davida Willis Hurwin
The Boy in the Dress by David Walliams

William C. Morris Award (for book published by a first-time author writing for teens)
The Freak Observer by Blythe Woolston

Margaret A. Edwards Award (for an author who's body of work has made a significant contribution to young adult literature

 Sir Terry Pratchett

Coretta Scott King Author Award (recognizing an African American author of outstanding books for children and young adults)
One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia

Corette Scott King Author Honor Books
Lockdown by Walter Dean Myers
Ninth Ward by Jewell Parker Rhodes
Yummy: The Last Days of a Southside Shorty by G. Neri, illustrated by Randy DuBurke

No comments:

Post a Comment